The Decision

Well the story begins a few years ago when I still needed a car in my every day life. I was gigging all over the area, driving 200+ miles most weeks to get to rehearsals and concerts. I hated being on the highway that much; I hated buying that much gas; I hated the car repair bills for my used car; and I hated most of all that I hated so many things.

Fast forward to the beginning of this chapter and you have a car whose engine died; a gal who realizes she only REALLY needs the car about every 5 weeks and some heart stopping calculations about how much the car truly costs to use every day.

I, of course, asked everyone I could think of: “What do you think about not going without a car.” And I received the gamut of answers from, “that’s a great way to save the environment” to “you will regret it within a month.”  I took it as a challenge to see if I could go without a car for the spring and summer. I live in CO where the weather is amazing 90% of the time. If I am going to make it anywhere without a car, this would probably be it.

So the process began with Craigslist. Selling a car on craigslist is like begging people to take your car. I don’t know much about cars so I had no idea what features to include in the listing. I consulted “car” people- you know the ones. They know that things like transmissions and carburetors are not forms of trans-fats and carbs. Despite talking to the “car” people, it still took about 12 tries to sell my car. One guy wanted to know why there was a high pitched “wheeeee” sound when he accelerated. I could only think it had to do with the fact that lightning speed was not on the speedometer and he should probably slow down.  Another wanted to put the seats down and lay in the car to make sure she could sleep in it.  A third wanted to take the car for a test drive in the snowy mountains west of town and return it in an hour.

By the time the final buyer arrived on my doorstep I was exhausted from the weirdos and just wanted to be rid of the car. He was willing to buy it after the test drive, but since the bank owned a small part of the car  we had to wait. We set the appointment for the following Friday, I called the bank to let them know I needed the title prepared and tried not to jinx the transaction for one week.

I was at the bank early Friday morning and the buyer drove an hour to meet me. We got into the bank checked in and the woman couldn’t get us the title. Because someone along the line had forgotten to mention the title was printed elsewhere and had to arrive via inter office mail. Sure the title was ready to be signed. The paper was just elsewhere in town. To my amazement the buyer was fine to hang around town for a few hours. I returned to the parking lot to reattach the license plates I had so giddily removed 30 minutes earlier.

One breakfast and a few errands later I returned to the bank, signed a bunch of papers and headed off to a bus. Over sixty days later and I haven’t looked back yet.

This entry was posted in stories of a pedestrian. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Decision

  1. Michelle says:

    Welcome back to blogging! Can’t wait to read more! 🙂

Leave a Reply

