The Reading List

Since I have started this adventure, people often inquire what are the unexpected added benefits I have run across. One benefit that I knew would appear, but I suppose I hadn’t really calculated was the amount of money I was going to spend on my Kindle app. I have time to read! I can choose what I want to read! It makes me what to insert exclamation points everywhere!

Here is the list of books I have managed to read on my commute since March. Twenty minute chunks are sufficient to get these books digested. In two months I have read more than I have managed to read in the past year and half. Considering I was the tween and teen who tried to read the whole town library every summer, this sudden freedom to read is one of the best parts of being a bus commuter.  What books do you recommend I add to this list? Leave them in the comments!

Water for Elephants by Sarah Gruen

This was on my book club’s list and before I realized it was going to be made into a movie I was 20 pages into the book. It was a great bus read as it was exciting, but not so encompassing I couldn’t put it down at the end of a bus ride.

Summers at Castle Auburn  by Sharon Shinn

The Help by Kathryn Stockett

Anonymously reading books on the bus is easy most of the time. Until you find something that is snort worthy. Then it’s hard to be the anonymous reader because you are busy trying to keep the funny nose noises to yourself. The Help was the first of the bus books where silent laughter and quick glances to make sure no one was staring at me occurred.

Archangel by Sharon Shinn

The next three are part of a loosely tied together trilogy. Once I read the first one, The Safe Keeper’s Secret I was pretty much hooked and wanted to read more tales from that world. Until I was introduced to Sharon Shinn’s writing I had not realized I liked anything from the fantasy category. It probably helped there were no dragons or unpronounceable creatures with vivid descriptions that lost me five words in.

The Safe Keeper’s Secret by Sharon Shinn

The Dream Maker’s Magic  by Sharon Shinn

The Truth Teller’s Tale by Sharon Shinn

Bossypants by Tina Fey

Snort book number two. But who is safe from giggles or snickers when reading Tina Fey?I was overcome with giddiness when I realized I could highlight parts to come back to since I was reading it on a Kindle. Although in this case perhaps having the book with a cover would have been more beneficial to my fellow riders and their curiosity in what I was reading.

This entry was posted in Benefits. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Reading List

  1. Chrissie says:

    Ok, you should definitely check out the following:

    The Pillars of the Earth and World Without End by Ken Follett
    The Outlander Series by Diana Gabaldon

    Both these two series keep me up at night, both are available on Kindle (that’s how I read them)! Happy reading!

  2. Michelle says:

    YAY for reading lots and lots and lots!!!!! Yay for new authors! 🙂

  3. malia says:

    reading/relaxing is the BEST part about riding a bus! i also liked pillars of the earth…next on my list is the help. heard it was good. have you read it?

Leave a Reply

