Wishing for Trains

Over the past two weeks I’ve been back on the east coast visiting various friends and family. While I was there I traveled by train (as well as plane and automobile- no bus). My first train trip was from NY to Washington DC where I slept as much as my body would let me. Apparently the older you get the harder it is to fall asleep anywhere. Who knew.

 

I loved that Amtrak had wifi (are you listening airlines? We all know that our electronic items are not hindering your flights, so please just make free wifi standard). I loved that I could get up and walk around whenever. And the leg room was luxurious. If only there was a way to cheaply get across the country on a train, I wouldn’t ever bother flying again. Yes, I am my train-buff dad’s daughter.

Now that I am back home I am back to busing and walking. The thought of buying a car has crossed my mind a few times, but then I figure I’ll just buy one when I need it. So far that is not my  need. So the adventure continues.

 

As for the new year, I rarely make resolutions at this time of year. If I make them, they will be at my birthday time because I figure THAT is my new year. I will continue to encourage friends and family to use their cars less. I also hope to find some sort of volunteer position with a transportation organization around town. I still haven’t found something that would fit my schedule, but I am keeping my eye out for an opportunity.

 

Do you  make resolutions for New Years? What do you plan on focusing on this year?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wishing for Trains

  1. malia says:

    I would love to travel on trains everyday too! I wish we had more of them around here…

  2. Michelle says:

    Trains would be SO NICE! Alas, we aren’t moving to the East Coast or Europe anytime soon 😛 🙂 Glad you had a good experience!

Leave a Reply

